My Tortoises eyes are closed

Tater tots42

Location (City and/or State)
El Monte
So I am new to caring for a tortoise and I have had my red footed tortoise for almost a week and noticed that its eyes are closed all the time. When I soak the tortoise its eyes open up and stay open when being soaked,but as soon as transfer the tortoise back in its enclosure. After 5 min its eyes are closed again. I was wondering if over hydration can affect the tortoise and or could something be wrong with its eyes. ( Bought from local pet store)

method89

Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Malverne, NY

Read the care sheet. Check your lighting and temps compared to the sheet.

Post pictures of your setup.

What type of lighting are you using?

zovick

10 Year Member!
So I am new to caring for a tortoise and I have had my red footed tortoise for almost a week and noticed that its eyes are closed all the time. When I soak the tortoise its eyes open up and stay open when being soaked,but as soon as transfer the tortoise back in its enclosure. After 5 min its eyes are closed again. I was wondering if over hydration can affect the tortoise and or could something be wrong with its eyes. ( Bought from local pet store)
The eyes being closed all the time could be a sign of poor health or that its eyes are being bothered by the lighting being used. It is not from over-hydration. What type of UV bulb are you using? If it is anything other than a fluorescent tube, I would get rid of it and switch to a fluorescent tube for UV such as a Reptisun 5.0 or 10.0 UVB fluorescent tube. Since you have a Redfoot, you might be OK with the 5.0 UVB since they do not require as much UV as some of the other species.

@toddrick can possibly offer you some more ideas on how to care for your new tortoise. He has very current experience with the Redfoots and I haven't had any of that species since the 1960's.

Tater tots42

El Monte