New Hermann's Tortoise owner

Status
Not open for further replies.

curliesue1975

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Wylie, Tx
Hello,

My name is Nicole and I am a brand new Hermann's tortoise owner. I live in Texas and I got my little Herman a week ago. He is supose to be 9 month old. I got him from a girl that acctually breeds only salcutas & she decided the he/she is more of a hustle for her since he/she doesn't fit in with hers. I am new to owning a toroise but wanted one all my life since my grandma has one for over 45 years. I need a little advice from you since my grandma does everything different than what you guys do and she also lives in Germany. Here is what I did. I made him a home in my old rabbit cage since he is still so tiny until I will be able to build him an permanent outside enclosure, I use a mixture out of organic topsoil and peat moss. I planted salvia, greek oregano, prasley, rosmary and geranium in it. I have a corner filled with hey and a water bowl which is a plate for a plant filled with pebbels so he won't drown. I also added some flat rocks for different texture. Do I need to spray his cage daily? Right now he is on my patio because we had some terrible thunderstorms but ususally his cagee is on a table 1/2 sun & shade. He eats well almost everything I gave him so far like dandilions, grass, romain lettuce, hibiscus, rose paddle but he seems to be a liitle freaked out when we go to his cage. What is the best way of taming him/her? When will I be able to sex him/her? What am I forgetting?

Thanks a lot

Attachments

• DSCN3511.JPG
    DSCN3511.JPG
    623.4 KB · Views: 16
  • DSCN3512.JPG
    DSCN3512.JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 19
  • DSCN3510.JPG
    DSCN3510.JPG
    1.1 MB · Views: 19

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Las Vegas, NV
Hello Nicole and welcome to the forum...

I will leave the Hermann answers to those more knowledgeable about the species than me.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA