question about eyes always shut

Jenanprid

Hi I am new to having a tortoise it has been asleep for one week now so I think it is going into hibernation it's still moving around but it's eyes are always shut, I'm worried it hasn't eaten enough for it to go into hibernation what should I do? I didn't think it would go into hibernation by itself as it is only 1 year in 3 months old so this will be the first time it's going into hibernation and won't I still need to keep it hydrated?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi @Jenanprid - What species of tortoise is it?

I never allow my babies to hibernate (actually called brumation) until they're three years old.

But it really sounds like there's more wrong here than a tortoise wanting to hibernate. After we know the species, we'll need to know more about how you care for it and what his enclosure is like.

Jenanprid

Hi @Jenanprid - What species of tortoise is it?

I never allow my babies to hibernate (actually called brumation) until they're three years old.

But it really sounds like there's more wrong here than a tortoise wanting to hibernate. After we know the species, we'll need to know more about how you care for it and what his enclosure is like.

Hi

My tortoise is a horsefield tortoise, he hasnt gone into hibernation it was a false alarm he woke up and is awake every day now. Everything seems fine. I have notices little bugs in the tortoise table. I have read its normal and they are called springtails but am worried they can crawl into my bed. I have my tortoise table in my room so am worried my bedroom will be full of them. Can this happen?

Last edited:

Jenanprid

Also what kind of lighting you are using, temps, humidity, etc

My light is a
ARCADIA D3 REPTILE BASKING LAMP 80W HEAT LIGHT & UV UVA UVB IR this keeps it at the right temp which is 36°C and in the cool area it is 26°C.

This is what i have been told the temp should be.