Buddy has respiratory infection

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenny

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
I took my DT Buddy to the vet on sat. since she developed a runny rose and had labored breathing. The vet gave her Fortaz, intramuscular. I tried to give her the next shot myself but Buddy freaked out (and so did I). So I took her to a closer vet to have them give her the shot and they said sub cu is fine. Does anyone know if IM or SC is the proper way to give the injection? Sub cu is so much easier on me and on Buddy! Buddy seems to be better today..two shots out of the way.

The vet tested her for myco but we still do not know the results. I have another DT, Spike, who is not showing any signs...just a bit lethargic. I am just keeping my eye on her right now.

One more question: is the only way to test for myco through a blood sample? I am a molecular biologist, so I was thinking I could test them myself by using quantitative PCR..but by using their mucous not blood. does anyone know if high levels of myco are found in the mucous?

Thanks so much,
Jenny

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
USA
Hi Jenny,
SC is just fine for Fortaz. Not sure how often your giving your dosages, but for the dosages I have it's every 72 hours.
You can do a PCR test for myco. Mycoplasma isolates are differentiated and identified on the basis of a 16S ribosomal RNA (rRNA) gene restriction fragment length polymorphism (RFLP) analysis. :D This is Genus specific so will test for any species.
You want to use a nasal flush for this.

Danny

Jenny

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Thanks Danny! I feel so much better knowing SC will do the job. I am giving her the injection every 72 hours.