pyramiding?

Location (City and/or State)
kansas
ive had comments about her inside enclosure being too wet, the last picture was a day that I had soaked the coco fiber soil, I've had comments she was too dark because she doesn't get sun, I explained humidity levels are simply too low for a one year old, but honestly I'm no expert I appreciate any advice! (please be nice)

Attachments

• IMG_20230531_123658_722.jpg
    IMG_20230531_123658_722.jpg
    207.4 KB · Views: 11
  • IMG_20230531_123739_028.jpg
    IMG_20230531_123739_028.jpg
    172.4 KB · Views: 11
  • IMG_20230521_114237_571.jpg
    IMG_20230521_114237_571.jpg
    106.9 KB · Views: 11

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
ive had comments about her inside enclosure being too wet, the last picture was a day that I had soaked the coco fiber soil, I've had comments she was too dark because she doesn't get sun, I explained humidity levels are simply too low for a one year old, but honestly I'm no expert I appreciate any advice! (please be nice)
Hello and welcome.

I'm not sure if you are asking a question, but your tortoise look good.

You are correct that dry conditions are not good for smaller ones. Bad tortoise care info abounds out in the world from almost every source, but you have somehow figured out some of the good info.

It is normal for healthy new growth to come in darker and also normal for them to lighten up in color as they get older and bigger.

Take a look at this thread, and look for the sulcata care sheet near the bottom to compare to your routine. Questions ad conversation are welcome.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Wet substrate needs to be avoided. But high humidity is needed for pyramiding and other issues in young Sulcata