Russian Tortoise Stays Buried, Seldom Eats

Location (City and/or State)
Omaha, Nebraska
I'm new to the reptile world in general and a first-time tortoise owner...so please excuse my ignorance.

I recently purchased three new Russian Tortoise hatchlings. They were approximately one month old when I received them and are approximately 2 months old now.

All three hatchlings are from the same clutch, were housed together prior to purchase, and are housed together now.

Two of the hatchlings seem to be doing just fine. They hide themselves at night, they come out during the day to explore, bask, and eat. I can always find them and regularly see them out and about.

The third hatchling is quite the opposite. I NEVER see him out on his own. He remains buried 100% of the time. He is usually several inches deep, too, not just buried slightly under the surface like the other two hatchlings will sometimes do.

I dig him out about every two days just to check on him, to soak him, and to try to get him to eat something. Typically, when I put him by his food, he's only there for a few seconds before he heads straight back to where he was buried and burrows himself in again.

I don't know what else to do to get him to come out and eat and bask as the other two hatchlings are doing. I have provided as much information about their care and enclosure below in the hopes that someone might have a suggestion on how I can get him better acclimated to his new home.

Enclosure Details
50 Gallon Rubbermaid Storage Tote (temporary)
4-6 inches of substrate (see "recipe" below)
100W Zoo Med Repti Basking Spot Lamp (Day)
75W Exo Terra Night Heat Lamp (Blue)
24" 17W Zoo Med ReptiSun 10.0 Fluorescent UVB

Substrate Mixture
50% Coconut Fiber
25% Cypress Mulch
25% Sphagnum Moss (to keep humidity up)

Care & Handling