haydog03

Location (City and/or State)
West Virginia
Hi! I’m posting this for a friend who has some turtles! They’re 10 months old! One is 66 grams and the other is 54 grams! Their shells are cracking a bit. I hope you can see in the picture that the top scutes have gaps instead of it all being smooth. Is this normal? I’ve tried to look at other pictures of turtles to see if that gap is common but I can’t really tell! Is it something to cause concern and if so what would fix it? The humidity is kept in the 80s with their basking spot 88-90°! They mostly eat bloodworms and turtle pellets. Their soil is coco fiber and peat moss! Any advice would be appreciated! D813F0BC-9767-45DC-B64E-FCF6552A2554.jpeg

Ink

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Virginia
I'm not an expert, how far away is the lights from the top of the turtle? And what type of lights are they using? What species is this turtle? Can you post pictures of the enclosure?

haydog03

West Virginia
I'm not an expert, how far away is the lights from the top of the turtle? And what type of lights are they using? What species is this turtle? Can you post pictures of the enclosure?
Hi!! They just got a new light in! I’ll ask for a picture of the enclosure as soon as I can! It’s a plastic container as far as I’m aware though! They’ve upgraded size of the enclosure as the turtles grew! It’s a box turtle!

haydog03

West Virginia
I don't see the cracked part you refer to?
It’s where the first two scutes on top aren’t smooth or grown together I should say. There’s a gap in between scutes while the rest are smooth! I’m not sure if that’s a normal part of growth or not though! 😓

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
My first thought was also heat desicating from an overhead heat source.

Maggie3fan

5 Year Member
Today is my birthday!
PacificNorthWest