Bottom of the shell issue?

Smith141

Location (City and/or State)
Florida
I am new to owning a red foot or any type of tortoise. He has a few dry patches on the bottom of his shell and I have no idea what it is and if he needs to see a vet? I keep him very clean and well cared for with food and shelter. Can anyone please tell me what is wrong if anything is wrong? Thank you gina

Attachments

• IMG_9073.jpg
    IMG_9073.jpg
    211 KB · Views: 8

TammyJ

5 Year Member
Jamaica
Hi there. Please explain the conditions you are keeping him in, including the type of substrate, and post pictures of his enclosures indoor and outdoor if both, then we can help you better.

Smith141

Florida
@ZEROPILOT @Cathie G
Hello! Can you please tell me if there is something wrong with the bottom of Buddy's shell? do I need a vet? Thank you so much ... have a great day! gina

Attachments

• IMG_8920D.JPG
    IMG_8920D.JPG
    739.8 KB · Views: 4

Smith141

Florida
Hi there. Please explain the conditions you are keeping him in, including the type of substrate, and post pictures of his enclosures indoor and outdoor if both, then we can help you better.
Thank you so much for trying to help me. He was sleeping on sand/soil mix mostly sand then two days ago we bought him organik's coconut coir husk for inside his gray house bin...?

Attachments

• Buddy's pen .jpg
    Buddy's pen .jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 6
  • Buddy's house.jpg
    Buddy's house.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 6
  • Buddy's pen with water.jpg
    Buddy's pen with water.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 4

Smith141

Florida
Thank you so much for trying to help me. He was sleeping on sand/soil mix mostly sand then two days ago we bought him organik's coconut coir husk for inside his gray house bin...?
Those are new plants in the enclosure that have tags on them. I am planting them today. This is a pretty large space for him. But more sand than anything. We also live in Florida where it is hot everyday with some rain but not enough lately.