First time to post! How am I doing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jessrich87

5 Year Member
My name is Jess and my Sulcata's name is Spike. He is less than a year old and and 3 inches. He is very active and friendly and loves to eat. I have had him since about March of this year and I am still learning to take good care of him. I am aware of the size he will be and the care he will need. I want him to grow big and healthy so any advice is welcome. I
already know he needs a bigger enclosure and that will happen as soon as I can. So here it goes:

Inside the house he has a 10 gal tank with mostly Pete Moss substrate. He has a shallow Tupperware lid for his food bowl. He has a Tupperware dish turned upside down as a hideout. He has a shallow exo terra water dish. He has a UVA basking bulb and a UVB bulb that stay on from about 9am until about 9pm. In the winter I use a heating pad at night.

Outside he has a 4x4 circular pin that I recently built him. He loves it. :) it has a mixture of soil and Pete Moss. It has a wicker tunnel from PetSmart for shade, a small, shallow cat bowl for water, cat grass planted and a couple of rocks. I covered the top with poultry netting so I don't have to worry about other critters messing with him when I can't watch him.

Any suggestions? Do you think I am doing okay so far? He seems happy, but I'm not sure if he is growing or not.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Welcome to the Forum, Jess.

Your inside habitat is way too small. 10 gallon aquariums should be outlawed for tortoises. :D

The outdoor habitat sounds great, but I don't blame you for not leaving such a small tortoise outside all the time.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA